Frequently Asked Questions

What are eating disorders ?

There are three clinical types of eating disorder.

Anorexia Nervosa: Weight loss through food restriction and sometimes extreme exercise. This is sometimes purposeful and sometimes 'happens by accident' (ie. someone who decides to become vegetarian may inadvertently become anorexic.)

Bulimia Nervosa: The use of vomiting or laxatives to control weight. Bulimia has an addictive feel because it becomes a way of regulating emotions and helping people cope with life.

EDNOS: (Eating disorders not otherwise specified) which include Compulsive Eating, and types of anorexia or bulimia which are not severe). There is a less familiar eating disorder called The Night Eating Syndrome and one named Orthorexia, which is thought to be similar to anorexia. People with Orthorexia are obsessed with healthy eating plans such as food allergy plans - but this masks a bad relationship with food.

Christine El-Fourti


Affiliate Practitioner of
The National Centre For Eating Disorders

© Christine El-Fourti 2009-2010